Skip to main content

The Society has both non-profit and charitable status. It is made up of more than 350 individual members and 12 institutional memberships from across the province of Alberta and beyond. There are six Centres which have their own elected officials. The Board consists of the president, past president, secretary, treasurer, one representative of each Centre and the editor(s) of the Alberta Archaeological Review, which is published twice a year. The Society holds an annual general meeting and conference each spring.

The Society was incorporated in 1975 when three Centres joined together to form the provincial body. Subsequently, four other Centres joined, but one has since ceased to operate. The regional Centres (Edmonton, Bodo, Red Deer, Calgary, Lethbridge, and Southeastern) operate independently, holding regular monthly meetings throughout the year and field trips during the summer months. Visiting archaeological sites, mapping, surveying, and excavating under a permitted archaeologist's guidance are just some examples of ASA trips. The Centres also hold public outreach activities throughout the province.

The ASA is supported by a grant from the Alberta Ministry of Arts, Culture and Status of Women and through our members' fundraising efforts and membership fees.

All members of the ASA support the terms of the Alberta Historical Resources Act, which protects all archaeological and paleontological sites in Alberta.

The ASA has also supported the publication of several books and papers and has published a biannual report called The Alberta Archaeological Review.